Join now - be part of our community!

MDR-RF810R wireless headphones - audio cuts out

profile.country.GB.title
therik
New

MDR-RF810R wireless headphones - audio cuts out

I'm having a problem with my MDR-RF810R wireless headphones in that the audio keeps cutting out. I've been using these and a previous model for several years, so I'm familiar with how they work, and the problem has only started recently.

My setup is to have the base unit plugged into my television, which in turn is plugged into my PC. The output volume on both devices is very high, so it' shouldn't be the 4 minute no audio cutoff problem.

Typically, the audio will be playing for 1-2 minutes, then the green light on the base unit flashes red, goes off, and then goes back onto green in the space of 5-6 seconds. Once it's back to green, the audio continues as though nothing happened until it cuts off again in another couple of minutes.

It seems to be worst when I've just finished charging the headphones for a long period of time (e.g overnight). Adjusting the output volume of the TV/PC down slightly makes the cut-outs more frequent, but on some videos the problem persists even at maximum volume (maximum TV volume, maximum PC volume, maximum video volume).. The headphones' "on" light remains lit all this time.

I've tried changing the audio channel on the base unit and headphones, and I've checked that all cables (power and headphone jack) are plugged in securely. I'm now out of ideas. Anyone know what might be the problem?

4 REPLIES 4
profile.country.GB.title
cass_n
Community Team

Hi @therik and welcome to the community,

I'm just checking this with one of our product experts for you.  I'll update this thread as soon as I have a response.

Cheers,

C

profile.country.GB.title
cass_n
Community Team

Hi again @therik - I checked this for you and have a couple of things that you can try: