Jetzt anmelden und Teil der Community werden!

VPCEE2S1E/BQ shuts down during gaming?

GELÖST
profile.country.en_GB.title
JConnolly
Besucher

VPCEE2S1E/BQ shuts down during gaming?

Hi all, new to this forum so please go easy.

I own a Sony Vaio VPCEE2S1E/BQ, 4gb of ram, and the AMD Triple Core processor.  I've had this laptop for around a couple of years or so.  Recently however, it has started shutting down unexpectedly during gaming.  It doesn't shut down normally through the shutdown.exe procedure, it just turns off completely and without warning. 

Now, it's important to note that I'm not doing heavy duty gaming here, I'm talking playing Battlestar Galactica Online on lowest settings, as well as The Old Republic. 

I'm no computer expert, but I think it has something to do with over heating as after it shuts down, the area near the touch pad on the left hand side is very warm to the touch.  This happens regardless of having it on a cooling stand which has 3 external fans blowing air into the laptop.

I understand that this laptop is not a dedicated gaming laptop, but it should be able to handle some low intensity online games. 

Could anybody give me any advice?  I have a dedicated repair centre locally according to the finder, but how much is a job like this going to cost and how much time is going to be needed?  I am a University student so my laptop is pretty much essential.  I also plan on getting an upgrade to this laptop during the summer so if the cost of the repair is a little too high I may just grin and bear it.

Sorry if tl;dr, just wanting to give everyone as much information as I can. 

1 AKZEPTIERTE LÖSUNG

Akzeptierte Lösungen
profile.country.GB.title
rich912
Vielschreiber

Hi JConnolly,

Your suspicions re overheating are confirmed by the stats provided. Your model has the AMD Phenom™ II P820 Triple-Core Mobile Processor and recorded temperatures for both thermal zone and cores are almost double what are expected for normal browsing.