Join now - be part of our community!

Clean Install Vista

Mikey657
Visitor

Clean Install Vista

Hi All

I have just got my new vaio cs11w up and running and i think its great apart from the useless vaio apps pre-installed. I am looking to do a clean install of my system but don't know how to do this despite reading through many of the other threads. I have created my recovery discs but i am unsure of what option to choose in "VAIO Recovery Centre" to perform a clean install.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as i am a complete newbie.

Thanks in advance

Mikey

6 REPLIES 6
profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

Hi Mikey and welcome to Club Vaio.

What are you trying to achieve?

Are you trying to return the Vaio to factory condition or are you trying to reinstall Vista without the preinstalled apps?

I don't think the second choice is possible using the Vaio Recovery Centre.

:thinking:

Mikey657
Visitor

Hi Mikey and welcome to Club Vaio.

What are you trying to achieve?

Are you trying to return the Vaio to factory condition or are you trying to reinstall Vista without the preinstalled apps?

I don't think the second choice is possible using the Vaio Recovery Centre.

:thinking:

Hi Blencogo

I am trying to reinstall Vista without the preinstalled apps. Any ideas would be great.

Thankyou.

hugpache
New

Hello Mikey657,

I'm afraid that is not possible.
With the recovery dvds you can only restore your VAIO to factory condition. The only way to get a clean Vista is get a Vista dvd and install it from scratch.

profile.country.GB.title
Thalamus.
Champion

Hi Mikey657,

welcome to Club VAIO..

This may help..

Following this guide will not give you a 100% clean install, however it will reinstall the vista operating system, drivers, utilities and a couple of the pre installed applications...

Click Start, All Programs, then Vaio Recovery Center..

Click Continue on the User Account Control window

Once the Vaio Recovery Center window opens